Skip to main content

Hawaiʻi Nei: Island Plays

Hawaii Nei brings together three plays by one of Hawaii's finest playwrights. A compassionate portrait of early nineteenth- century Hawaii, “The Conversion of Kaahumanu” charts the lives of five women during the traumatic, transforming events that followed Western contact. Set in post-World War II Hawaii, “Emmalehua” tells the story of a young Hawaiian woman struggling to preserve a cherished cultural heritage in a world eager to forget the past and embrace the new American dream. Through history, humor, and a whodunnit plot, the past and present collide in “Ola Na Iwi,” which explores the issues surrounding the treatment of indigenous human remains.

Victoria Nalani Kneubuhl

Softcover, 227 pp.

Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Click here to continue shopping.